Planning Committees' membership confirmed

Published: Thursday, 24th May 2018

The membership of the Council's two planning committees was announced at Annual Council and the Chairs and Vice-Chairs were elected at the committees' meetings this week.

The East Area Planning Committee will consist of:

  • Councillors Councillor Sian Taylor (Chair) 
  • Councillor David Henwood (Vice-Chair) 
  • Councillor Shaista Aziz 
  • Councillor Nigel Chapman 
  • Councillor Mary Clarkson 
  • Councillor John Tanner 
  • Councillor Roz Smith 
  • Councillor Ruth Wilkinson 
  • Vacancy (Labour Group place)

The East Area Planning Committee deals with planning applications in these wards:

  • Barton and Sandhills
  • Blackbird Leys
  • Churchill
  • Cowley
  • Cowley Marsh
  • Headington
  • Headington Hill and Northway
  • Littlemore
  • Lye Valley
  • Marston
  • Northfield Brook
  • Quarry and Risinghurst
  • Rose Hill
  • Iffley

The West Area Planning Committee will consist of:

  • Councillor Colin Cook (Chair) 
  • Councillor Michael Gotch (Vice-Chair) 
  • Councillor Lubna Arshad 
  • Councillor Nadine Bely-Summers 
  • Councillor Tiago Corais 
  • Councillor Paul Harris 
  • Councillor Alex Hollingsworth 
  • Councillor Dan Iley-Williamson 
  • Councillor Louise Upton 

The West Area Planning Committee deals with planning applications in these wards:

  • Carfax
  • Hinksey Park
  • Holywell
  • Iffley Fields
  • Jericho and Osney
  • North
  • St Clement's
  • St Margaret's
  • St Mary's 
  • Summertown
  • Wolvercote

Councillor Taylor said: "I am delighted to have been elected as Chair of East Area Planning Committee for a second year. Planning is vital to the City Council's role in ensuring we have development which is sympathetic to the character of local neighbourhoods and balances out the many competing demands on Oxford’s limited space.”

More information on the East Area Planning Committee.

Councillor Cook added: “Planning is an ever more vital aspect of the work the City Council does as we continue to face challenges to develop our city as well as protecting its unique character. I’m looking forward to Chairing the West Area Planning Committee and I’m confident that the members of the Committee will deliver an effective planning service.” 

More information on West Area Planning Committee.