Oxford City Council Leader announces 2019/20 Cabinet

Published: Friday, 31st May 2019

Councillor Susan Brown, Leader of Oxford City Council, has announced the Cabinet for 2019/20.

The Cabinet – previously known as the City Executive Board – was announced at a meeting on Wednesday (29/5).

The Members of the Cabinet are:

  • Councillor Susan Brown – Leader, and Cabinet Member for Economic Development and Partnerships. Her responsibilities include:
    • Leader of the Council
    • Council nominee on partnership bodies including the Oxfordshire Growth Board, Oxford Strategic Partnership, Oxford Local Economic Partnership, Fast Growth Cities and the Ox-Cam Arc
    • Leads on Economic Development issues supporting clean growth and promoting an Oxford Living Wage
    • Leads on democratic services, includes chairing the Advisory Board on Citizens’ Assembly
  • Councillor Linda Smith – Deputy Leader (Statutory), and Cabinet Member for Leisure and Housing. Her responsibilities include:
    • Works with partners in the voluntary, charitable, public and private sector to bring funding and joint working to house homeless people in Oxford
    • Improves the private rented sector in Oxford through  working with landlords and tenants and through regulation
    • Oversees the City’s leisure provision through monitoring of the City Council’s contract with Fusion Lifestyle to manage Oxford’s leisure centres, pools and ice rink
    • Deputises for the Leader as required
  • Councillor Ed Turner – Deputy Leader, and Cabinet Member for Finance and Asset Management. His responsibilities include:
    • Oversees Oxford City Council’s finances and investments, ensuring a balanced budget that delivers the council’s priorities
    • Oversees the council’s investment and management of land and property
    • Responsible for the delivery of the council’s capital programme of investment and maintenance of the council’s assets
    • Deputises for the Leader as required
  • Councillor Nigel Chapman – Cabinet Member for Safer Communities and Customer Focused Services. His responsibilities include:
    • Works with TVP and others to promote safe communities and neighbourhoods
    • Ensures the efficient and effective delivery of council services to residents and businesses by improving services according to customer feedback
    • Oversees the continued success of the wholly-owned Oxford Direct Services Ltd as a means of income generation to invest in council services
    • Ensures that the council’s own services are on a trajectory to meet our ambitions for a zero carbon Oxford by 2030
  • Councillor Mary Clarkson – Cabinet Member for Culture and City Centre. Her responsibilities include:
    • Ensures Oxford’s cultural offer is as varied as possible and inclusive to all of our citizens
    • Ensures a vibrant city centre, attractive to all residents and visitors
    • Works with partners (Experience Oxfordshire, local businesses and others) to promote sustainable tourism
    • Continues to promote the Covered Market as a retail destination for local residents and visitors
  • Councillor Tom Hayes – Cabinet Member for Zero Carbon Oxford. His responsibilities include:
    • Works with partners (bus companies, taxis, Oxfordshire County Council) to deliver the Zero Emission Zone as part of our work towards Zero Carbon Oxford
    • Promotes zero emission transport and the necessary infrastructure
    • Oversees changes in the council’s own practice to support achieving Zero Carbon for Oxford City Council by 2030
    • Delivers the outcomes of the Citizens Assembly on Climate Change
  • Councillor Alex Hollingsworth – Cabinet Member for Planning and Sustainable Transport. His responsibilities include:
    • Delivers a Local Plan to meet aspirations around delivering more housing and sustainable development
    • Delivers housing against our housing delivery test
    • Works with partners (eg Oxfordshire County Council, bus companies, taxi companies and Network Rail) to deliver sustainable transport in Oxford in line with our zero carbon agenda
    • Works with road and rail partners on infrastructure delivery
  • Councillor Mike Rowley – Cabinet Member for Affordable Housing. His responsibilities include:
    • Improving tenant involvement in the running of council housing
    • Ensuring the delivery of genuinely affordable homes to meet Oxford’s unmet need
    • Overseeing the development of Oxford City Housing Ltd as a means to building better homes in Oxford
    • Overseeing the management and policies associated with running our council owned housing
  • Councillor Marie Tidball – Cabinet Member for Supporting Local Communities. Her responsibilities include:
    • Championing community cohesion and celebrating diversity
    • Supporting social and financial inclusion
    • Working with neighbourhoods on the provision of community meeting spaces
    • Tackling loneliness and isolation
  • Councillor Louise Upton – Cabinet Member for Healthy Oxford. Her responsibilities include:
    • Creating health neighbourhoods through supporting greater participation in sports and active leisure pursuits, particularly in the council’s parks and open spaces
    • Council’s nominee on Oxfordshire Health and Wellbeing Board
    • Championing cycling as a mode of transport and leisure pursuit
    • Promoting public health including improved air quality and planning of active communities

For more information about the Cabinet, visit the City Council’s website.