City Council Champions announced

Published: Friday, 20th August 2021

Council Leader, Councillor Susan Brown has announced the appointment of nine City Council Champions.

Alongside their duties as local councillors, the Champions will assist Cabinet Members with a focus on particular policy areas within the cabinet member’s broader portfolio.

The aim of Champions is to provide an extra focus on areas of particular importance in terms of the council’s priorities for Oxford.

The champions are:

Table showing Oxford City Council Champions

Champion Name

Champion Title

Cabinet Member

Councillor Jemima Hunt

Active Travel/Cycling Champion  

Councillor Tom Hayes

Councillor Rae Humberstone

Armed Forces/Veterans Champion 

Councillor Susan Brown

Councillor Ajaz Rehman

Get Active/Sports Champion

Councillor Mary Clarkson and Councillor Louise Upton

Councillor Colin Cook

Heritage Champion   

Councillor Alex Hollingsworth

Councillor Chewe Munkonge

Inclusive Economy Champion

Councillor Susan Brown

Councillor Hosnieh Djafari-Marbini

Migrant Champion

Councillor Shaista Aziz

Councillor Barbara Coyne 

Older Person’s Champion

Councillor Shaista Aziz

Councillor Imogen Thomas

Private Sector Tenants’ Champion

Councillor Alex Hollingsworth

Councillor Paula Dunne 

Trade Union Membership Champion

Councillor Susan Brown

“I am delighted to announce the appointment of our City Council champions. Each of them will bring experience, expertise and focus to areas of particular importance for our city. I am looking forward to working with them all.”

Councillor Susan Brown, Leader of the Council