Oxford Covered Market

History and heritage

The market was officially opened in 1774 and has a unique and wonderful atmosphere. It provides its visitors with the wonderful aromas of fresh fruit, coffee and fresh baking and to a feast of sights and sounds.

In 1772 the original Market committee accepted an estimate for nine hundred and sixteen pounds and ten shillings for the building of twenty butchers' shops. John Gwynn, the architect for Magdalen Bridge drew up the plans and designed the High Street frontage. Twenty more shops soon followed and from this the market grew into the delight it is now.

Covered Market Heritage Statement

Covered Market flag