General Election - Thursday 12 December 2019

A General Election will be held on Thursday 12 December 2019. Oxford is split between two constituencies.

We are responsible for running the election in the Oxford East constituency. The Returning Officer at Vale of White Horse District Council runs the election in the Oxford West and Abingdon constituency.

Find out which constituency you are in

Find your polling station

General Election - Oxford West and Abingdon constituency

Oxford West and Abingdon constituency is run by the Returning Officer at Vale of White Horse District Council.

Visit the Vale of White Horse's website for full details on candidates and deadlines.

View more candidate information for Oxford West and Abingdon constituency.

The results will be available on the Vale of White Horse District Council website once announced.

General Election - Oxford East constituency

For the election in Oxford East constituency see below for the various deadlines.

We will publish the various statutory and other notices as the election timetable progresses.

View more candidate information for Oxford East constituency

The results will be announced in the early hours of Friday 13 December 2019 on our Election Results page.


  • Polling cards issued - around11 November 2019
  • Deadline for completed nomination papers - 4pm on Thursday 14 November 2019
  • Publication of the statement of valid candidates - 5pm Thursday 14 November 2019
  • Deadline for registrations to vote - Tuesday 26 November 2019 . To register to vote please visit the GOV.UK website
  • Deadline for completed applications for a postal vote (or to change or cancel an existing arrangement) - 5pm on Tuesday 26 November 2019. Visit the Electoral Commission - Voting by post website for a form
  • Deadline for completed applications to vote by proxy - 5pm on Wednesday 4 December. Visit the Electoral Commission - Voting by proxy website for a form
  • Polling day - Thursday 12 December 2019, 7am to 10pm. Find your polling station

Important Note: EU citizens (who are not British, Irish, Cypriot and Maltese or a holder of a dual nationality from a Commonwealth country) are NOT eligible to vote in the General Election.