General Election and Parish by-election - 8 June 2017

A General Election will be held on Thursday 8 June 2017. Oxford is split between two constituencies.

We are responsible for administering the election for the Oxford East constituency. The Returning Officer at Vale of White Horse District Council runs the election in the Oxford West and Abingdon constituency.

Find out which constituency you are in

General Election - Oxford West and Abingdon constituency

Oxford West and Abingdon constituency is run by the Returning Officer at Vale of White Horse District Council.

Visit the Vale of White Horse's website for full details on candidates and deadlines.

View more candidate information

General Election - Oxford East constituency

For the election in Oxford East constituency see below for the various deadlines.

Download the Notice of Election

The candidates are as follows:

  • Chaka ARTWELL - Independent
  • Suzanne BARTINGTON - Conservative Party
  • Anneliese DODDS - Labour and Co-operative Party
  • Kirsten JOHNSON - Liberal Democrat
  • Larry SANDERS - Green Party

Download the full Statement of Persons Nominated for Oxford East

Download the List of Election Agents for Oxford East

View more candidate information


  • Polling cards issued - around 5 May 2017
  • Deadline for completed nomination papers - 4pm on Thursday 11 May 2017
  • Publication of the statement of valid candidates - Friday 12 May 2017
  • Deadline for registrations to vote - Monday 22 May 2017. To register to vote please visit the GOV.UK website
  • Deadline for completed applications for a postal vote (or to change or cancel an existing arrangement) - 5pm on Tuesday 23 May 2017. Visit the Your Vote Matters website for a form
  • Deadline for completed applications to vote by proxy - 5pm on Wednesday 31 May 2017. Visit the Your Vote Matters website for a form
  • Polling day - Thursday 8 June 2017, 7am to 10pm. Find your polling station

IMPORTANT NOTE: EU citizens are NOT eligible to vote in the General Election.


Littlemore Parish by-election

A by-election was called to fill a vacancy caused by a resignation. If contested the poll would have taken place on the same day as the General election - 8 June 2017.

The deadline for completed nominations to stand for the parish was 4pm Thursday 11 May 2017.

At the close of nominations only one nomination had been received - from Martin Dare-Edwards (Liberal Democrat). He is therefore elected unopposed. There will not be a poll.